On the ski hills, on the bike trails, and thru life in general

Sun Peaks 2015

For the eighth year in a row, I spent the past week skiing at Sun Peaks Resort, outside Kamloops, B.C., with about 70 other members of our ski club. For the second year in a row, I had to put up with an inconvenient cold, replete with plugged sinuses which left my head in a perpetual fog. The fact that the hill was wrapped in its own fog layer all week somehow seemed appropriate.

Thankfully, the temperatures were mild, ranging between 0C and -8C depending where you were on the mountains. The cloud layer waxed and waned and drifted around the valley but almost always enveloped the middle of the lower runs. So skiing off the Sundance, Sunburst, Burfield or Morrisey chairs almost always started above the clouds, through a variable pea soup, then into the flat light of an obscured sun. The only perpetually sunny skiing all week was off the Crystal chair, which started and ended above the cloud layer. The West Bowl tee-bar isn’t open on weekdays, unfortunately, so we never got to enjoy that sunny area. Because of the sun, Crystal was busier than usual and, with no new snow all week, the few groomed runs got skied off pretty quickly each morning. The ungroomed ones were just slick hardpack.

No that's not frost on my smiling face. It's a winter beard.

No that’s not frost on my smiling face. It’s a winter beard.

Blue sky above the clouds. Top of Crystal chair, with top of Burfield chair just visible at upper left

Blue sky above the clouds. Top of Crystal chair, with top of Burfield chair just visible at upper left

Start of Blue Line run, all of it above the clouds hanging lower in the valley.

Start of Blue Line run, all of it above the clouds hanging lower in the valley.

Al getting ready to ski off the edge of the world, on Blue Line.

Al getting ready to ski off the edge of the world, on Blue Line.

As I have mentioned in the past, my favourite runs are on Mt. Morrisey. All of the blue runs except Showboat, under the chair, are cut and groomed between individual, or islands of, trees, giving you multiple options for a route down the hill. You could do the same run 10 times and not take the same route twice. That variability of terrain, plus the comfortable pitch and length of the runs – between 2 to 3 kms – is a perfect match for my ability. Moreover, the trees give a lot better definition of the ground in flat light and fog which the more open runs on the other mountains don’t provide.

Chairway to heaven. Getting ready to disembark from the Morrisey chair.

Chairway to heaven. Getting ready to disembark from the Morrisey chair. Didn’t find any bustles in a hedgerow, just great skiing.

The start of Mid-Life Crisis, my favourite run on Morrisey. I'm sure I identify with the name.

The start of Mid-Life Crisis, my favourite run on Morrisey. I’m sure I identify with the name.

A happy Al on I Dunno.

A happy Al on I Dunno.

The big Xmas tree on Morrisey. I counted 8 others on the ay up the lift but I'm sure there are more

The big Xmas tree on Morrisey. I counted 8 other smaller ones on the way up the lift but I’m sure there are more. Still don’t know how they got that star on top!

Other than the ever-present and mildly irritating fog layer hanging around all week, the only quibble I have about the trip is that the resort had the least amount of snow that I remember over the last eight years. Numerous runs had the tops of shrubs poking above the snow. The mid-level base was reported as 120 cm (4 feet) but I still managed to hit a rock (on Crystal Run), ski over a lot of shrub tops, and see more than the odd bare spot. Still, it is far and away my favourite resort. Huge number and variability of runs, great accommodation, good restaurants and compact and friendly village. I look forward to returning next year.

Leave a Reply

Tag Cloud

Breaking Chains and Taking Lanes

Bicycle Adventures in the Great White North

tuckamoredew

Biking & Busking in Edmonton

Winnipeg CycleChick

On the ski hills, on the bike trails, and thru life in general

chasingmailboxes.wordpress.com/

life and bikes in washington, d.c.

