On the ski hills, on the bike trails, and thru life in general

Last ride of 2013

I got in my last ride of the year on November 2nd,  a dull overcast day that was barely above the freezing point. The forecast was for our first major snowfall the following day and, surprisingly, the forecast was bang on. All in all though, it was a great year for cycling and a terrific warm and dry October. I only had to wear my ski mitts once!

I did my usual route out to Big Lake.  With ice on the wetland ponds, the waterfowl were gone from there but I could hear geese, and see the white specks of swans, off in one of the far bays of the still ice-free lake.

Ice, now permanent until next April, on the marsh off the Poole boardwalk.

Ice, now permanent until next April, on the marsh off the Poole boardwalk.

I take pictures at the same spots on the trail over the year so that I can compare the progression of the seasons. The part through the woods now looks like it is ready for the snow.

Last snow free day at my standard picture spot on the trail.

Last snow free day at my standard picture spot on the trail.

As I mentioned in my last post, beavers have been very active gnawing down trees close to the river. Usually these are smaller ones, with the nice, tender branches, but one of the larger trees got attacked the night before.  I noticed it when I was taking a picture from the Children’s Bridge towards the trestle.  I wonder how long it took to get through it? Once it got through the trunk, over top of the fencing surrounding the base (not high enough apparently), the beaver then chewed off a couple of the branches and dragged them off to his/her stockpile. I can’t help but imagine some cartoon inspired image of the beaver ripping through the trunk like a buzz saw, chips a flyin’.

Beaver going after the big ones now!

Beaver going after the big ones now!

Must have been a big, beav, working caefully so as not to get dinged when the tree fell.

Must have been a big beav, working carefully so as not to get dinged when the tree fell. Note the “protective” fence!

It took almost a week, but I finally relented to the cold, snow and ice. It ain’t going anywhere soon and neither am I, by bike anyway. My skis are tuned up and the hills will be opening in the next few weeks so adventure still awaits!

Comments on: "Last ride of 2013" (2)

  1. Why was this your last ride of the year?

  2. Probably because I am a cycling wuss. I don’t mind the cold (good thing, considering where I live) and can dress for any temperature, but I really don’t enjoy having to fight my way along streets and trails covered in oatmeal/ice ridges/black ice. I have tried studded tires, which certainly improves stability, but the enjoyment factor just isn’t the same. I cycle for recreation and fitness but in the winter I much prefer a more traditional winter activity – so I trade the bike for skis.

Leave a Reply

Tag Cloud

Breaking Chains and Taking Lanes

Bicycle Adventures in the Great White North

tuckamoredew

Biking & Busking in Edmonton

Winnipeg CycleChick

On the ski hills, on the bike trails, and thru life in general

chasingmailboxes.wordpress.com/

life and bikes in washington, d.c.

