On the ski hills, on the bike trails, and thru life in general

Fall is still hanging in here quite nicely. When I went out for my ride today at noon it was a sunny 4C (39F), but that sun and no wind makes a huge difference in comfort.  I overdressed to start, as usual, but it is better to have too many layers than too few.  My lower limit for bare legs is 5C so I started out with my wind pants over my cycling shorts. I also started with 3 light  layers on top. After 7 km, one top layer came off and when I got to the coffee stop, after 15 km, off came the wind pants and the full-fingered gloves! It only got up to 9C (48F) but I was plenty warm as long as I was pushing on the pedals.  Once I stopped at the farmer’s market for a few supplies, I started to feel a bit chilled though.

Short cut over a dirt construction road

Short cut over a dirt construction road. No rain so not muddy.

Good on the powers that be to build a multi use trail beside a new arterial road.

Good on the powers that be to build a multi use trail beside a new arterial road (137th Ave).

 

Dammit people - put in some bike racks! Is this what you want cyclists to use?

Dammit people – put in some bike racks! Is this what you want cyclists to use?

Latte and a slice of cake. Comfort food!

Latte and a slice of cake. Comfort food!

Looks like those leaves dropped straight down!

Looks like those leaves dropped straight down!

For the rest of this year’s coffeeneuring challenge, I wanted to try to avoid the chain stores and just hit up the independent shops.  Not only that, I wanted to further restrict my visits to those shops that had even rudimentary bicycle parking. It remains to see how successful I will be but so far, so bad. I rode into Edmonton again today and went to “The Tea Place” at a nearby shopping centre, which, despite it’s name, also pours a decent coffee.  Although I had never heard of it before, when I clicked on its website after I got home I discovered that it is indeed part of a chain, albeit a chain of 3 local stores. So I’ll give it a bit of a break.  Not for the bike parking though.  Not a bike stand to be found anywhere.  I could have chained up to a fence around the patio of a nearby pizza store, although they may not have liked that, but I chose a parking spot closer to where I was and that I could see.  Thank goodness for landscaping, as minimal as it is! And shame on that shopping center (Christy’s Corner) for not having ANY bike parking😦

Coffeeneuring #3

Date: Saturday, October 12, 2013

Place: The Tea Place, 137th Ave and St. Albert Trail, Edmonton, AB

What: Latte and chocolate cake. Needed calories to fight the chill. OK – maybe not.

Distance: 27.6 km

Comments: Latte was good, though no pretty design in the steamed milk (it was a tea place after all). NO BIKE PARKING.

Comments on: "Coffeeneuring #3 – Layered" (2)

  1. Hi! I came across your blog because I was also looking into the lack of bike racks on Christy’s Corner. Just to let you know, I’ve sent a request to the city to install bike racks somewhere nearby. If they do it, it should be about a month turnaround time. You can indicate where bike racks are needed here, in case you come across this again – http://www.edmonton.ca/transportation/cycling_walking/request-a-bicycle-rack.aspx

    I had a similar issue when going to the Tea place, but just left my bike beside the window and sat at the bar behind the window in the tea place. Definitely not ideal! I thought for sure World Health would have bike racks, but even they don’t seem to.

    Especially because of increased bike traffic in the area due to the 142nd street path which is great for people in St Albert and North Edmonton, they really need to consider this!

    Not sure you’ll see this, I know it’s an old post but I thought I’d leave an update.

    • Thanks Josee. I wasn’t aware of that city website. Sounds like they are trying to do things right, but it is baby steps for sure. I just came back from cycling in Belgium and Holland, where the bike is king. They certainly don’t have that problem over there. Sure wish we would develop that sort of biking culture over here.

Leave a Reply

Tag Cloud

Breaking Chains and Taking Lanes

Bicycle Adventures in the Great White North

tuckamoredew

Biking & Busking in Edmonton

Winnipeg CycleChick

On the ski hills, on the bike trails, and thru life in general

chasingmailboxes.wordpress.com/

life and bikes in washington, d.c.

