On the ski hills, on the bike trails, and thru life in general

Another short, cold ride today (wind chill -10C) but at least I got to see some animals that I haven’t seen for a while.  I was standing on the viewing platform on Big Lake when I noticed some movement on the ice a few hundred yards out.  Looking through the deck binoculars, I could see that it was a coyote in search of a meal.  It was quite far from any open water, hence nowhere near where the remaining waterfowl are gathered, and, as I watched, it turned and started trotting towards the nearest shore in defeat.  Although I have seen many coyotes there in the past, and I know that at least 1 pack lives in the woods nearby, this is the first time this year that I have seen one.  Too far away for a photo though.  And just as I was about to leave, I caught a glimpse of a large brownish-black bird fly past.  It was one of the immature bald eagles that my wife had seen out there and told me about.  Again, it was too far away by the time I got my camera out to get a photo😦

I was more successful taking pictures of stationary evidence of the wildlife, like the small animal tracks (fox, probably) in the wetland.  Now that snow is covering the ice, you can see the tracks of the mammals and birds that decide to go on a walkabout.

Fox tracks on the ice in the wetland.

More tracks in the swamp

Birds that are confined to the small leads of open water in the river are easy targets too, like the ducks and tundra swan below.

Ducks and a tundra swan coping with the ice

I went for coffee at a shop that I used to patronize often a few years ago but haven’t been to in a while, the Second Cup in Inglewood Square.  It is off my usual cycling route and doesn’t have good bike parking so it has fallen off my radar.  But it does have good coffee, for a chain, and yummy treats.

Ahh – warmth and treats! With my helmet stuffed with tuque and mitts.  And not my bike thru the window – it’s an ad for a fitness club in the same shopping centre.

This is 6 coffeeneuring rides done, 1 more to go over the next 2 weekends!  With the weather supposed to get above zero next week (finally), completing the challenge should be a piece of cake.  Or donut…

Coffeeneuring 6

Date: Sat, October 27

Place: Second Cup, Inglewood Square, St. Albert

What: coffee, banana walnut muffin

Distance: 16 km

Details: Cold, with a chance of critters.

Comments on: "Coffeeneuring 6 – Critters" (1)

  1. […] footprints in the snow. Winter has arrived in Edmonton, Alberta. See Cruisin’ Downhill’s report of his […]

Leave a Reply

Tag Cloud

Breaking Chains and Taking Lanes

Bicycle Adventures in the Great White North

tuckamoredew

Biking & Busking in Edmonton

Winnipeg CycleChick

On the ski hills, on the bike trails, and thru life in general

chasingmailboxes.wordpress.com/

life and bikes in washington, d.c.

