On the ski hills, on the bike trails, and thru life in general

The weather forecasters finally got it right, much to my dismay, when we awoke to a blanket of snow this morning.  Not much, only about a half inch, but enough to provide icy lubrication on the streets and trails.  My 700×35 bike tires are not suited to winter, having almost no tread, which makes them great for pavement but not so much for traction in mud or snow.  I went out for a 3-mile walk first, to check the trails, and found that the city was in the process of sweeping them clean.  It was still cool, at -6C, but the sun was shining and it was just too nice a day to pass up a ride.  So trepidation and care was the order of the day when I set out.  I often push the season when I head out in spring as soon as I see a bit of pavement showing through the ice and snow, so I figured that this wasn’t much different.  And I was pleasantly surprised!  I had no problems with traction, even on the areas that the sweeper hadn’t got to yet.  By noon, the sun had melted some of the open stretches and, with the swept areas, about 60% of my route was snow free.

Some parts of the trail were still snow covered…

Some parts of the trail were partially melted off…

And some parts of the trail were fairly clean!

The snow has covered the ice but the duckweed patch is mostly snow free. Ominous clouds in the north.

The snow on the duckweed had melted off, except in the shadows of the deck rails!

Bye geese! Have a nice trip – see you next year.

And I was able to get in my coffeeneuring requirement too.  After my usual ride out to Big Lake, I headed over to the Glasshouse Bistro and Cafe.  It is located in The Enjoy Centre, which is the new home for Hole’s greenhouse – one of the largest greenhouses in western Canada.  I enjoyed a very nice vanilla bean latte and warmed up for my trip home.  On the way out, I passed a guy dressed as a marshmallow who was just entering.  The cashier looked over at me and said “And so it begins…”.  Ah Halloween.  And here I thought I would stand out dressed in my biking duds!

Vanilla bean latte at Glasshouse Cafe

Coffeeneuring 5:

Date: Friday, Oct. 26

Place: Glasshouse Bistro and Cafe, St. Albert

What: Vanilla bean latte

Distance: 18 km

Details: 1st ride in the snow.  Probably not the last.

Leave a Reply

Tag Cloud

Breaking Chains and Taking Lanes

Bicycle Adventures in the Great White North

tuckamoredew

Biking & Busking in Edmonton

Winnipeg CycleChick

On the ski hills, on the bike trails, and thru life in general

chasingmailboxes.wordpress.com/

life and bikes in washington, d.c.

